Words/Love

 

It feels as though I am always leaving the door open. I ask you over and over again to come in. In winter I have saved you a seat by the fire and made you a cup of tea. In summer I have turned on the air conditioning and saved you a rainbow popsicle. In rain I have offered to share my shelter with you. In sunshine I have offered you a place in my garden.

But instead you stand on the front porch of my heart and over and over again decline. You are forever just outside the door, as if to reassure yourself that if someone were to ask, you could say that you were there. But it is not enough just to be there, hovering outside the boundaries of love. It is not enough to stand beside me without knowing what’s happening inside. It is not…

View original post 491 more words

Comments are closed.

