Gay Marriage

The gay marriage debate. We’ve heard it everywhere, and frankly, if you’re anything like me, you’re sick of hearing about it. When I first heard about it, I have to be honest, I was a bit clueless. I had no idea something so simple could be turned into something so complex. I did my reading on both sides of the arguement, and, after wading through a sea of hate-oriented articles (from both sides, mind you), my opinion has not changed.

Gay marriage, in my opinion, should only concern gay people. Straight people have absolutely nothing to do with gay marriage. In fact, the only marriage we should be worrying about is a marriage that you personally are involved in, either as an actual participant or a close family member. Here is my reasoning, broken down for everybody:

Firstly, love and marriage should ideally be between the two people involved. Period. I am in a heterosexual relationship. I am female, and I have a boyfriend. It’s pretty serious, and I am going to marry him when I am in the right position to do so. We are in love, and have every right to do so. Society encourages this. I do not believe anyone has the right to prevent us from doing so if we wish, because frankly, it does not involve them. This goes for same sex couples as well. You are not the person getting married, so why is it your problem? If you do not approve of gay marriage, that’s fine, don’t get one. However, you have no obligation to tell other people what to do with their lives. Honestly, from a basic standpoint, it’s actually pretty rude.

Second: religion. I was born and raised Roman Catholic. I now identify as Christian. I believe in Jesus and talk to God. I also do not judge others simply because they are different. I also do not believe God actually cares all that much about who we choose to go through life and raise a family with. In fact, because God creates everything, he made them this way. Why would he do such a thing if he didn’t like it? For those who do believe that gay marriage is a sin, I have absolutely nothing against you, as long as you do not shove your beliefs in my face. And to be clear, I would say this to anyone who did this, no matter the argument. If I dislike french fries, the last thing I want is french fry enthusiasts knocking on my door, begging me to try them. Again, it’s rude. In short, you can believe they will go to hell all you want, if that’s what floats your boat, but don’t be waving it around in their faces. Just be content with the idea you’re going to Heaven.

Biologically, homosexuality is found in a number of other species, and in some, in greater numbers than humanity. We are not special. We were created this way just like everything else. It’s not a choice, its biology. Some people have red hair, some people are black, some have freckles, and some are gay. Genetics, people.

Finally, for some reason people seem to think that if gay marriage is legalized, a whole host of things is going to happen. Some things I have heard include: influx of AIDS, increased poverty, a defilation of the sanctity of marrage, children will be adopted into same-sex families, and the world will explode (ok so I made that last one up). Let’s break this down one by one, shall we?

AIDS is transmitted by unprotected sex with ANY gender, as well as sharing dirty needles. Marriage theoretically indicates a monogamous relationship, which leads to LESS risky multi-partner crazy sex, so not really any influx of AIDS there, and I’m pretty sure gay people are not all predisposed to heroin addictions. Feel free to correct me if I am wrong.
I’m not sure where the arguer was coming from here. Gay people come evenly distributed from every social class, so money has nothing to do with it. Unless they tend to spend more on weddings or something (?).
Because high divorce rates, spousal abuse, extramarital affairs, and Jerry Springer haven’t already.
YES! And studies show same sex partners make excellent parents! Not to mention a solution for all those unwanted children in the system right now that can’t all be adopted by heterosexual couples. Why is this even bad?
Before I go, one thing I must add is that I am against the idea of forcing churches to include gay clergy members. Some religions already include gay people and many will most likely open their doors in the years to come. Forcing it only adds tension to the issue and will create bitterness. Who would want to join a church that let you in just because they were forced anyways? There would be zero sense of community, which is what I look for in a religious organization.

If you have any questions, please feel free to comment! I will try my hardest to address issues in a timely manner.

Comments are closed.

