Finally

On the news & on the Guardian website, I saw an article that adoption rules will change slightly in order to make it easier for adults to adopt children of a different race.

Finally.

I always thought it was outragous that you could only adopt a child of the same race as yourself.
I want to adopt when I’m older because I believe the world is already over populated, so why should I bring a new child into this world when there are children already, that need homes?

Race is not important. When a child is 5 years old, the won’t care if you are a different colour to them.
If the reason it is hard is because the child will know that they are adopted, wouldn’t it make them stronger? Wouldn’t they love you more because you decided to  take them in & that is the most selfless thing anybody can do? Then maybe they will adopt when they are older and give another child opportunites that orphans don’t get?

A black child is 3 times less likely to get adopted than a white child. And that isn’t because people don’t want black children, it is because there are more white families that want adopt than black families & they can’t adopt a child from another race.

So apparently it is better for Black children not to get adopted instead of being adopted by parents of a different race because they will feel ‘out placed’. No family? Ask questions? I know what I’d prefer.

I really hope this change happens soon because it is something that should have always been possible.

Comments are closed.