The Secret

First of all, I hope you don’t mind me writing this type of review since my blog is mainly about life, love and music…but I figured that since this blog is about ‘all things girly’, and reading is one of the many things I consider a ‘girl thing’, I thought I’d let you in on a book I’ve just finished reading.

The book I will be reviewing in this post is called ‘The Secret’ and it was written by a woman called Rhonda Byrne. It isn’t a fiction, a non-fiction or a love story; it’s a self-help kind of book, in the category ‘Mind, Body, Spirit’. It explains what ‘The Secret’ is and how to apply it to your life to help you live harmoniously and happily.

Inside the books reads…

“Fragments of a great secret have been found in the oral traditions, in literature, in religions and philosophies throughout the centuries. for the first time, all the pieces of The Secret come together in an incredible revelation that will be life-transforming for all who experience it. In this book, you’ll learn to use The Secret in every aspect of your life – money, health, relationships, happiness, and in every interaction you have in the world. You’ll begin to understand the hidden, untapped power that’s within you, and this revelation can bring joy to every aspect of your life. The Secret contains wisdom from modern-day teachers – men and women who have used it to achieve health, wealth, and happiness. By applying the knowledge of The Secret, they bring to light compelling stories of eradicating disease, acquiring massive wealth, overcoming obstacles and achieving what many would regard as impossible.”

And on the back…

“It has been passed down through the ages, highly coveted, hidden, lost, stolen, and bought for cast sums of money. The centuries-old Secret has been understood by some of the most prominent people in history: Plato, Galileo, Beethoven, Edison, Carnegie, Einstein – along with other inventors, theologians, scientists, and great thinker. Now The Secret is being revealed to the world.”

I first saw this book when I was working and my boss brought it into the salon with her and started talking about it. I was immediately intrigued by the whole idea of the book and when she had left it on reception while she popped out, I couldn’t resist a quick read of the first page or two. Instantly inspired, I decided I was going to either buy a copy for myself or borrow it from the library. Either way, I had to read this book.

The book starts with a foreword from the author, explaining how a year before writing The Secret, her life had collapsed around her. She was exhausted, her father had suddenly passed away and the relationships she had with colleagues and loved ones were not great. She then goes on to tell us about how she discovered The Secret and how she had a vision of making The Secret into a film, which, after months of work and believing, happened!

From the very beginning of this book to the very end, I felt interested, intrigued and very inspired. If I was having a bad day, I’d read a few chapters and instantly feel great about my life! The best part about this book is that it actually includes real-life stories from people all over the world who have used The Secret to do things such as heal themselves from disease and become wealthy! And it makes sense!

It is slightly repetitive. At some points, it says the same things over and over just in a different way each time. However, this is the only negative aspect of the book and I would gladly read it again. I will probably have to go and buy myself a copy because it inspires me that much, and makes me feel that great about life.

I’m not going to tell you much about ‘The Secret’, because it might spoil it for those who want to read the book, but what I will say is that The Secret is the law of attraction…and if there’s one thing I’ve learned from reading this book, it’s so be grateful for everything that I have.

If you got this far, well done lol I hope you enjoyed my first book review and if you’d like me to review more books that I read then please do let me know in the comments section! For now, I will leave you with some quotes from the book that inspired me…

“You can have, do, or be anything you want.”

“Man becomes what he thinks about.”

“What you resist, persists.”

“Energy glows where attention goes.”

“You are reading this book right now. It’s you that drew this into your life, and it’s your choice whether you want to take it and utilise it, if it feels good. If it doesn’t feel good, then let it go.Find something that feels good, that resonates with your heart.”

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls.”

Comments are closed.

